Covid-19: Brazil closes land borders with 8 countries

By João Frey/Congresso em foco

Brazil’s federal government published an ordinance late Thursday morning (19th March) preventing the entry of foreigners from eight Latin American countries. The rule, which is valid for 15 days, prohibits the entry of people from Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru and Suriname.

The restriction does not apply to Brazilians, immigrants with prior authorization for permanent residence in Brazilian territory, foreign professionals on a mission serving an international organization, as long as duly identified and to foreign employees accredited to the Brazilian Government.

Despite the restrictions, the free traffic of road cargo transportation is permitted, the execution of cross-border humanitarian actions previously authorized by the local health authorities and the traffic of residents of twin cities with an exclusively land border line.